OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA DECEMBER 15, 2009

The Macomb County Board of Commissioners met at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, December 15, 2009 on the 9th Floor of the County Administration Building, in the Commissioners' Board Room, Mount Clemens. Chair Gieleghem called the meeting to order. A roll call was taken for attendance as follows:

NAME	DISTRICT	DDESENT	NOT
NAME Androv Duzwi	DISTRICT 1	PRESENT	PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj			X
Marvin Sauger	2		X
Phillip A. DiMaria	3		X
Toni Moceri	4		X
Susan L. Doherty	5		X
Joan Flynn	6		X
Sue Rocca	7	Χ	
David J. Flynn	8	X	
Robert Mijac	9		X
Ken Lampar	10	Χ	
Ed Szczepanski	11		X
James L. Carabelli	12		X
Don Brown	13	Χ	
Brian Brdak	14		X
Keith Rengert	15	Χ	
Carey Torrice	16		X
Ed Bruley	17	Х	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18	Х	
Paul Gieleghem	19	Χ	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	Х	
Irene M. Kepler	21		X
Frank Accavitti, Jr.	22		X
William A. Crouchman	23		Х
Michael A. Boyle	24		X
Kathy D. Vosburg	25	X	
Jeffery S. Sprys	26	Χ	

Commissioners Doherty and Brdak arrived after roll call.

AGENDA

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Bruley to adopt the agenda, supported by Commissioner Camphous-Peterson. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None

INTERVIEWS OF CANDIDATES FOR BOARDS & COMMISSIONS APPOINTMENTS

APPOINTMENTS MADE BY VOTE OF THE FULL BOARD:

a) Parks & Recreation Commission

5 vacancies:

- 3 vacancies for 3 year terms, 01/01/10 12/31/12
- 1 vacancy for unexpired term, upon appt to 12/31/11
- 1 vacancy for SEMCOG rep term, upon appt to indefinite

For 3 year term, 01/01/10 - 12/31/12

3 vacancies, 7 application received

Applying for reappointment

- Anthony Lipinski (present)
- William Revoir (present)
- Ruthie Stevenson (present)

Applying for appointment

- Kevin Hertel (present)
- Roger Krzeminski (present)
- Joshua MacKinnon (unable to attend)
- Clarice Squillace (applying for 3 yr OR unfulfilled term) (present)
- Sandra Swayne (applying for 3 yr OR unfulfilled term) (present)

For unexpired term, upon appt to 12/31/11

1 vacancy, 2 applications received

- Clarice Squillace (applying for unfulfilled OR 3 year term)
- Sandra Swayne (applying for unfulfilled OR 3 year term)

SEMCOG rep, upon appt to indefinite

1 vacancy, 0 applications received

b) Veterans Affairs Commission

1 vacancy to fulfill unexpired term, upon appt to 08/01/2012

- Members must be county residents who have served honorably on active duty or who have served actively in a war in which the U.S. has been, is, or may hereafter be a participant
- No more than two members will be representative of a single war
 - Commission membership currently has representation as follows and therefore appointees must be representative of conflicts other than Vietnam:

Vietnam (2 members)

Korea (1 member)

Gulf War (1 member)

 All applications for appointment must be accompanied by a letter of support/endorsement from a chartered veterans group in Macomb County.

8 applications received

- David Auwen (unable to attend)
- Thomas D'Alio (present)
- James McCarthy (present)
- Alan Opra (present)
- George Preston (present)
- William Shier (present)
- Joseph Wrobel (unable to attend)
- Therese Wrobel (present)

APPOINTMENTS MADE BY CHAIR WITH CONCURRENCE OF BOARD:

c) Area Agency on Aging:

1 vacancy for Older Adult Representative, 2 year term 01/01/10 to 12/31/11 Concur Memo attached for reappointment of:

Jerry DeMaire (not present)

d) <u>Brownfield Redevelopment Authority:</u>

2 vacancies for Community Leader designations, terms upon appt to 09/30/2012 Concur Memo attached for reappointment of:

- Daniel Langley (not present)
- David Scurto (not present)

e) Building Authority:

7 vacancies, 3 year terms 01/01/10 to 12/31/12 Concur Memo attached for reappointment/appointment of following:

- Jerry Dancey (not present)
- Richard Ives (not present)
- Thomas Landa (not present)
- Robert Soullierre (not present)
- Martin Smith (not present)
- Vincent Viviano (not present)
- Ted Wahby (not present)

f) <u>Criminal Justice Building Authority:</u>

3 vacancies, 3 year terms 01/01/10 to 12/31/12 (final term of this group) Concur Memo attached for reappointments of:

- Lester Gilbert (present)
- Chris Pozios (not present)
- Tim Rinaldi (unable to attend)

g) Historical Commission:

3 vacancies, 3 year terms upon appt to 10/31/2012 in following designations:

- Attorney (1 vacancy)
- Architect (1 vacancy)
- Individual w/Planning Experience (1 vacancy)

Concur Memo attached for reappointments of:

MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA - OFFICIAL MINUTES December 15, 2009

- Raymond Glime (attorney) (not present)
- Marian Lynch (architect) (not present)
- Donald Green (planning exp) (not present)

h) Hospital Finance Authority:

1 vacancy, 5 year term 01/01/10 to 12/31/14 Concur Memo attached for reappointment of:

Commissioner Sue Rocca (present)

i) Substance Abuse Advisory Council:

1 vacancy, 3 year term upon appointment to 08/31/12 Concur Memo attached for appointment of:

Marianne Frazho (present)

j) Water Quality Board:

3 vacancies, 3 year terms 01/01/10 to 12/31/12 in following designations:

- Republican County Commissioner
- Democrat County Commissioner
- Citizen-at-large

Concur Memo attached for reappointments of

- Commissioner Kathy Vosburg (Republican) (present)
- Commissioner Brian Brdak (Democrat) (present)
- Tom Morley (Citizen-at-large) (unable to attend)

COMMISSIONER APOINTMENT WITH CONCURRENCE OF BOARD:

k) Commission on Women:

26 vacancies for 2 year terms 01/01/10 to 12/31/11; Each County Commissioner shall appoint one representative of his/her district Concur Memos attached for the following:

- District 1: Jacqueline Kelly (present)
- District 2: Kathleen Buckner (unable to attend)
- District 3: Colleen Cohan (present)
- District 4: Suzanne Keffer (unable to attend)
- District 5: Edna Clark (unable to attend)
- District 6: Wanda Francisco (present)
- District 7: Theresa Monsour (unable to attend)
- District 8: Donna Cangem (unable to attend)
- District 9: Karen Smith (unable to attend)
- District 10: Jayne Richardson (unable to attend)
- District 11: Jan Gietzen (not present)
- District 12: Terri Kowal (not present)
- District 13: Denise Borchert (not present)
- District 14: Denise Barber (not present)
- District 15: Terry Hood-Campion (present)
- District 16: Denise Greiner (present)
- District 17: Sandra Hughes-Leonard (present)
- District 18: Patricia Mazzola (present)

MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA - OFFICIAL MINUTES December 15, 2009

District 19: Karen Allmacher (not present)
District 20: Shirley West-Meeks (present)
District 21: Alice King (unable to attend)
District 22: Peggy Ciaramitaro (not present)
District 23: Sandra Wolny (not present)
District 24: Diane Russell (not present)\

• District 25: Maria Silamianos-Sherman (not present)

• District 26: Joyce Crager (present)

ROLL CALL

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1	-	Х
Marvin Sauger	2		X X
Phillip A. DiMaria	3		Х
Toni Moceri	4	Х	
Susan L. Doherty	5	Х	
Joan Flynn	6		Х
Sue Rocca	7	Х	
David J. Flynn	8	Х	
Robert Mijac	9		Х
Ken Lampar	10	Х	
Ed Szczepanski	11		X
James L. Carabelli	12		X
Don Brown	13	Χ	
Brian Brdak	14	Х	
Keith Rengert	15	Χ	
Carey Torrice	16		X
Ed Bruley	17	Χ	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18	Х	
Paul Gieleghem	19	Χ	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	Χ	
Irene M. Kepler	21		X
Frank Accavitti, Jr.	22		X
William A. Crouchman	23		X
Michael A. Boyle	24		X
Kathy D. Vosburg	25	Χ	
Jeffery S. Sprys	26	Χ	

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Doherty to adjourn, supported by Commissioner Lampar. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**

Vice-Chair Tocco adjourned the meeting at 6:50 p.m., until the call of the Chair.

MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISS	
FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL A	GENDA - OFFICIAL MINUTES
December 15, 2009	
Paul Gieleghem, Chairman	Crystal Brenner, Deputy Clerk