MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF CANVASSERS DECEMBER 6, 2018 RECOUNT OFFICIAL MINUTES

The Macomb County Board of Canvassers met on Thursday, December 6, 2018 at the Washington Township Hall Board Room, 57900 Van Dyke, Washington Township, Michigan, to conduct a recount of the votes cast for the office of Romeo Village Clerk, which appeared on the ballot at the Tuesday, November 6, 2018 General Election.

The following Board members were present:

Sarah Stovall – Chair Janice Nearon – Vice Chair Michelle DeBeaussaert – Canvasser Barb Van Syckel – Canvasser

Also Present: Fred Miller - County Clerk/Register of Deeds

Michael Grix – Chief Election Clerk Richard Strobl – Election Department

Frank Krycia - Assistant Corporation Counsel

Call to Order

Sarah Stovall called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made by Michelle DeBeaussaert and seconded by Janice Nearon to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

Public Participation

None

Approval of Minutes (November 6, 2018 General Election Canvass)

A motion was made by Michelle DeBeaussaert and seconded by Janice Nearon to approve the minutes. The motion carried.

Recount of Votes Cast

Michael Grix explained the recount procedures.

The following precincts were recounted:

City/Twp	Precinct	Old Seal	New Seal	Recountable
Bruce Twp	1	1828	4481	Yes
Bruce Twp	1 AV	8774	11489	Yes
•		8775	11488	
Washington Twp	1	5434	11500	Yes
Washington Twp	1 AV	344103	523763	Yes
		13331	527775	

At the completion of the recount, Michael Grix read the results.

For the office of Romeo Village Clerk:

The following precincts were recounted:

City/Twp	Precinct	Recount Results				
		Lee	Lee	Trapp	Trapp	
		Original	Recounted	Original	Recounted	
Bruce Twp	1	252	252	302	302	
Bruce Twp	1 AV	115	115	123	123	
Washington Twp	1	265	266	258	258	
Washington Twp	1 AV	120	120	86	86	
	Totals	752	753	769	769	

Lee – Original total: 752; Recount total: 753 Trapp – Original total: 769; Recount total: 769

Macomb County Board of Canvassers Official Minutes December 6, 2018 Meeting – Page 2

Motion to accept Recount Statements of Votes

A motion to accept the recounted results was made by Barb Van Syckel and seconded by Michelle DeBeaussaert.

N	e	W	В	us	ir	۱e	S	S

None

Old Business

None

Public Participation

None

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Barb Van Syckel and seconded by Janice Nearon. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 12:12 p.m.

Sarah Stovall Chair	Janice Nearon Vice Chair	
Michelle DeBeaussaert Canvasser	Barb Van Syckel Canvasser	
Fred Miller County Clerk/Register of Deeds	Michael Grix Chief Election Clerk	