

# Anthony G. Forlini

Macomb County Clerk Register of Deeds

Jennifer Walker Deputy Register of Deeds

## MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF CANVASSERS

### **MEETING NOTICE**

Date/Time: Wednesday, October 18, 2023, 9:00 a.m.

Location: Macomb County Election Department Conference Room 32 Market Street, Mount Clemens

### <u>AGENDA</u>

- I. Call to Order
- II. Adoption of Agenda
- III. Public Participation (3 minute limit, longer at discretion of Chairperson)
- IV. Approval of Minutes August 8, 2023 Election Recount
- V. Certification of Ballot Containers

Kathy Smith

Chief Deputy Clerk

- VI. Unfinished Business
- VII. New Business
- VIII. Public Participation (3 minute limit, longer at discretion of Chairperson)
- IX. Adjournment

#### MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF CANVASSERS AUGUST 30, 2023 RECOUNT UNOFFICIAL MINUTES

The Macomb County Board of Canvassers met at Macomb Community College – South Campus (14500 12 Mile Road, Warren) on Wednesday, August 30, 2023, to conduct a recount of the votes cast for Warren City Council – At Large, as requested, which appeared on the ballot at the Tuesday, August 8, 2023 Election.

The following Board members were present:

Sarah Stovall – Chair Lori Mabee – Vice Chair Nancy Tiseo – Canvasser Alysa Diebolt – Canvasser

Also Present: Michael Grix – Chief Election Clerk Goce Nedanovski – Election Department Cameron Bruce – Election Department Frank Krycia – Corporation Counsel's Office Molly Zappitell – Corporation Counsel's Office

#### Call to Order

Sarah Stovall called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

#### Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made by Alysa Diebolt and seconded by Nancy Tiseo to adopt the agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

#### Public Participation

None

#### Approval of Minutes (August 8, 2023 Election Canvass)

A motion was made by Nancy Tiseo and seconded by Lori Mabee to approve the minutes. The motion carried unanimously.

## Recount of requested precincts in the race for Warren City Council At-Large, at the primary election held August 8, 2023

The recount began. Following the completion of each recounted precinct, ballot containers were resealed. Seal numbers are available on the Recount Statement of Votes and in each respective poll book.

At the end of the recount, Michael Grix read a summary of the recounted votes:

Marie C. Adkins – Original votes: 1,607 Khaja Shahab Ahmed – Original votes: 980 Jerry T. Bell – Original votes: 399 Donna Kaczor Caumartin – Original votes: 3,075 Dave Dwyer – Original votes: 2,995 Joan Flynn – Original votes: 808 Jocelyn Howard – Original votes: 1,330 Mike Reilly – Original votes: 826 Angela Rogensues – Original votes: 2,487 Gloria Sankuer – Original votes: 801 Gary Skop – Original votes: 1,308

Recounted votes: 1,611 Recounted votes: 982 Recounted votes: 400 Recounted votes: 3,082 Recounted votes: 3,000 Recounted votes: 813 Recounted votes: 1,337 Recounted votes: 829 Recounted votes: 2,495 Recounted votes: 801 Recounted votes: 1,310

Michael Grix read a summary of the new final results (recounted votes plus certified vote totals from unrequested precincts). The same four candidates certified as the nominees at the end of the county canvass were still the four highest vote-getters after the completion of this recount.

#### Motion to Accept and Certify Recount Statement of Votes

A motion to accept and certify the recounted results was made by Alysa Diebolt and seconded by Lori Mabee. The motion carried unanimously.

Unfinished Business None

New Business None

Public Participation None

#### **Adjournment**

A motion to adjourn was made by Nancy Tiseo and seconded by Lori Mabee. The motion carried unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 5:46 p.m.

Sarah Stovall	Lori Mabee
Chair	Vice Chair
Nancy Tiseo	Alysa Diebolt
Canvasser	Canvasser
Anthony G. Forlini	Michael Grix
Clerk and Register of Deeds	Chief Election Clerk