MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING – SPECIAL AGENDA APRIL 6, 2004

The Macomb County Board of Commissioners met at 9:00 a.m. on April 6, 2004 at the Macomb County Board of Commissioners Conference Room, Mount Clemens. Chair White called the meeting to order and the following members were present:

Vacant	District 1
Marvin Sauger	District 2
Phillip A. DiMaria	District 3
Mike Walsh	District 4
Susan L. Doherty	District 5
Joan Flynn	District 6
Sue Rocca	District 7
Diana J. Kolakowski	District 8
Robert Mijac	District 9
Philis DeSaele	District 10
Ed Szczepanski	District 11
Don Brown	District 13
Kurt S. Kramer	District 14
Keith Rengert	District 15
William J. Revoir	District 16
Bobby L. Hill	District 17
Michael C. Sessa	District 18
James M. Perna	District 19
Nancy M. White	District 20
Leonard Haggerty	District 21
Elizabeth Slinde	District 22
Roland R. Fraschetti	District 23
Peggy Kennard	District 24
Kathy Vosburg	District 25
Nicholyn Brandenburg	District 26

Commissioner Lund was absent.

A <u>MOTION</u> TO ADOPT THE AGENDA WAS MADE BY COMMISSIONER SLINDE, SUPPORTED BY COMMISSIONER REVOIR, AND THE <u>MOTION CARRIED</u>.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None

PRESENTATION

Commissioner Sauger showed a short video on the career of the late Commissioner Ralph A. Liberato.

APPOINTMENT OF MACOMB COUNTY COMMISSIONER, DISTRICT 1

Four applications received. Chair White called for additional nominations. There were none. Nominations closed.

ROLL CALL				
	Duzyj	Lieckfelt	Owczarek	Sypniewski
BRANDENBURG	Χ			
BROWN	Χ			
DESAELE				Χ
DI MARIA				Χ
DOHERTY				Χ
FLYNN				Χ
FRASCHETTI	Χ			
HAGGERTY				Χ
HILL				Χ
KENNARD				Χ
KOLAKOWSKI				Χ
KRAMER	Χ			
LUND	ABSENT			
MIJAC				Χ
PERNA				Χ
RENGERT	Χ			
REVOIR	Χ			
ROCCA				Χ
SAUGER				Χ
SESSA	Χ			
SLINDE				Χ
SZCZEPANSKI	Χ			
VOSBURG	X			
WALSH				Χ
WHITE				Χ
TOTAL	10	0	0	14

<u>DANNY SYPNIEWSKI APPOINTED MACOMB COUNTY COMMISSIONER,</u> <u>DISTRICT 1 - TERM ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2004.</u>

APPOINTMENT TO MACOMB COUNTY PARKS AND RECREATION COMMISSION

Two applications received. Chair White called for additional nominations.

Commissioner Sessa nominated Commissioner Kramer. Commissioner Kramer accepted the nomination.

Commissioner Sessa indicated he felt the Parks and Recreation Commission needed more representation from the north end of the county.

Commissioner Flynn indicated the south end of Warren needed representation and supports Commissioner Sauger.

MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS - FULL BOARD SPECIAL AGENDA – April 6, 2004

A <u>MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS</u> was made by Commissioner Hill, supported by Commissioner Slinde, and the <u>MOTION CARRIED</u>.

A discussion ensued.

<u>CALL FOR THE QUESTION</u> to end debate was made by Commissioner DiMaria, supported by Commissioner Hill. A vote was taken, was not 2/3's, the debate continued.

ROLL CALL

ROLL CALL			
	Artman	Sauger	Kramer
BRANDENBURG		Χ	
BROWN		Χ	
DESAELE		Χ	
DI MARIA		Χ	
DOHERTY		Χ	
FLYNN		Χ	
FRASCHETTI			Χ
HAGGERTY		Χ	
HILL		Χ	
KENNARD		Χ	
KOLAKOWSKI		Χ	
KRAMER			Χ
LUND	ABSENT		
MIJAC		Χ	
PERNA		Χ	
RENGERT		Χ	
REVOIR		Χ	
ROCCA		Χ	
SAUGER		Χ	
SESSA			Χ
SLINDE		Χ	
SZCZEPANSKI		Χ	
VOSBURG		Χ	
WALSH		Χ	
WHITE		Χ	
TOTAL	0	21	3

MARVIN SAUGER APPOINTED TO THE MACOMB COUNTY PARKS AND RECREATION COMMISSION – TERM ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2005.

NEW BUSINESS

Commissioners' Kolakowski and Brown spoke regarding the article in the Macomb Daily referring to the bridges to be repaired in the county and the funding.

Commissioner Sauger thanked the board for their support and appointing him to the Parks and Recreation Commission. He also expressed his mothers' thanks for the Resolution presented to her last month on the occasion of her 100th birthday.

Commissioner Sessa expressed his feelings that in the annual report, page FISCAL RESPONSIBILITIES, should be revised to include a flow chart showing where the money comes from as well as the money being spent.

Commissioners' Kramer and Vosburg spoke about the 927th Air Refueling demonstration they attended Saturday at SANG Base. What a great experience it was and thanked our armed forces for all they do in defending our country.

Commissioner Doherty, Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Annual Report, welcomed Commissioner Sessa's comments and encouraged all commissioners to review the proposed Annual Report as soon as possible. Reminded everyone the next meeting of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Annual Report will be Thursday, April 8th @ 10:00 a.m.

District 1

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None

ROLL CALL ATTENDANCE

Vacant	District 1
Marvin Sauger	District 2
Phillip A. DiMaria	District 3
Mike Walsh	District 4
Susan L. Doherty	District 5
Joan Flynn	District 6
Sue Rocca	District 7
Diana J. Kolakowski	District 8
Robert Mijac	District 9
Philis DeSaele	District 10
Ed Szczepanski	District 11
Don Brown	District 13
Kurt S. Kramer	District 14
Keith Rengert	District 15
William J. Revoir	District 16
Bobby L. Hill	District 17
Michael C. Sessa	District 18
James M. Perna	District 19
Nancy M. White	District 20
Leonard Haggerty	District 21
Elizabeth Slinde	District 22
Roland R. Fraschetti	District 23
Peggy Kennard	District 24
Kathy Vosburg	District 25
Nicholyn Brandenburg	District 26

Commissioner Lund was absent.

ADJOURNMENT

A <u>MOTION</u> TO ADJOURN WAS MADE BY COMMISSIONER DESAELE, SUPPORTED BY COMMISSIONER SLINDE, AND THE <u>MOTION CARRIED.</u>

Chair White adjourned the meeting at 9:35 a.m., until the call of the Chair.

Nancy M. White, Chair Carmella Sabaugh, Clerk