# MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD SPECIAL MEETING – JAIL EXPANSION PROJECT OCTOBER 13, 2005

The Macomb County Board of Commissioners met at 9:00 a.m. on October 13, 2005 at the Macomb County Board of Commissioners Board Room, Mount Clemens. Chair White called the meeting to order and the following members were present:

Andrey Duzyj	District 1
Marvin Sauger	District 2
Phillip A. DiMaria	District 3
Jon Świtalski	District 4
Susan L. Doherty	District 5
Sue Rocca	District 7
Diana J. Kolakowski	District 8
Robert Mijac	District 9
Philis DeSaele	District 10
Ed Szczepanski	District 11
Peter J. Lund	District 12
Don Brown	District 13
Brian Brdak	District 14
Keith Rengert	District 15
William J. Revoir	District 16
Bobby L. Hill	District 17
Paul Gieleghem	District 19
Nancy M. White	District 20
Leonard Haggerty	District 21
Elizabeth Slinde	District 22
William A. Crouchman	District 23
Peggy Kennard	District 24
Kathy Vosburg	District 25
Nicholyn Brandenburg	District 26

Commissioners' Flynn and Gibson were absent.

# **AGENDA**

A <u>MOTION</u> to adopt the agenda was made by Commissioner Slinde, supported by Commissioner Rengert.

A <u>MOTION TO AMEND</u> the agenda was made by Commissioner Brdak to reconsider Resolution No. 108 regarding employees who are called to active duty in a crisis. There were **NO** objections.

Commissioner Kolakowski asked to add Resolution – Celebrating 50<sup>th</sup> Wedding Anniversary, Edward and Elizabeth Choinski. There were **NO** objections.

Commissioner Hill asked to add Resolution – Commending 185<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of First United Methodist Church in Mt. Clemens. There were **NO** objections.

Commissioner Brandenburg asked to add Resolution – Honoring Pastor D.L. Bradley on the Occasion of his Tenth Anniversary as Pastor to Bethlehem Temple Apostolic Faith Church. There were **NO** objections.

## THE AGENDA AS AMENDED CARRIED.

### **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

None

## PRESENTATION ON THE MACOMB COUNTY JAIL EXPANSION PROJECT

Presentations were made by the following:

Sheriff Mark Hackel, Sheriff Department Michelle Sanborn, Jail Administrator, Sheriff Department Jim Robertson, Consultant, Voorhis, Robertson Justice Systems, Inc. Henry Pittner, Healy, Bender & Associates Dominic Abbate, Wakely Associates

A discussion ensued. Questions were put forth by Commissioners and answered by the presenters.

Recommendation of the Jail Expansion Steering Committee regarding Macomb County Jail Expansion Project, received and filed.

A <u>MOTION</u> was made by Commissioner Lund, supported by Commissioner Szczepanski to accept the plan to expand the Macomb County jail, forward to budget committee to propose a plan to finance for the construction and operation of the plan, with no construction to begin until financing has been approved. <u>THE MOTION CARRIED</u>.

#### **ADDED AGENDA ITEM**

Reconsideration of Resolution No. 05-108. Roll call requested.

## **ROLL CALL VOTE ON RESOLUTION**

VEC	NIO
_	NO
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
ABSENT	
ABSENT	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
Χ	
23	
	X X X X ABSENT ABSENT X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X

## THE RESOLUTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

# **RESOLUTIONS**

A <u>MOTION</u> was made by Commissioner Duzyj, supported by Commissioner Slinde, to adopt the Resolutions and Tributes in their entirety.

# MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS – SPECIAL FULL BOARD PURPOSE OF MEETING: Jail Expansion Project – October 13, 2005

A vote was taken on the following.

Res. No. 05-110	50 <sup>th</sup> Wedding Anniversary - Edward & Elizabeth Choinski (offered by Kolakowski)
Res. No. 05-111	Commending the 185 <sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the First United Methodist Church in Mt. Clemens (offered by Hill)
Res. No. 05-115	Pastor D.L. Bradley – 10 <sup>th</sup> Anniversary as Pastor to Bethlehem Temple Apostolic Faith Church (offered by Brandenburg)

# **THE MOTION CARRIED**.

## **NEW BUSINESS**

Commissioner Brandenburg announced Ed Szczepanski's birthday celebration immediately following meeting.

# **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

None

# **ROLL CALL ATTENDANCE**

CALL ATTENDANCE	
Andrey Duzyj	District 1
Marvin Sauger	District 2
Phillip A. DiMaria	District 3
Jon Switalski	District 4
Susan L. Doherty	District 5
Sue Rocca	District 7
Diana J. Kolakowski	District 8
Robert Mijac	District 9
Philis DeSaele	District 10
Ed Szczepanski	District 11
Peter J. Lund	District 12
Don Brown	District 13
Brian Brdak	District 14
Keith Rengert	District 15
William J. Revoir	District 16
Bobby L. Hill	District 17
Paul Gieleghem	District 19
Nancy M. White	District 20
Leonard Haggerty	District 21
Elizabeth Slinde	District 22
William A. Crouchman	District 23
Peggy Kennard	District 24
Kathy Vosburg	District 25
Nicholyn Brandenburg	District 26

Commissioners' Flynn and Gibson were absent.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

A <u>MOTION</u> TO ADJOURN WAS MADE BY COMMISSIONER REVOIR, SUPPORTED BY COMMISSIONER DUZYJ AND THE <u>MOTION CARRIED.</u>

Chair White adjourned the meeting at 12:00 p.m., until the call of the Chair.

Nancy M. White, Chair	Todd Schmitz, Deputy Clerk