MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING OCTOBER 15, 2007

The Macomb County Board of Commissioners met at 11:29 a.m. on Monday, October 15, 2007 on the 9th Floor of the County Administration Building, in the Commissioners' Board Room, Mount Clemens. Vice-Chair Camphous-Peterson called the meeting to order. A roll call was taken for attendance as follows:

			NOT
NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1	Χ	
Marvin Sauger	2 3	Χ	
Phillip A. DiMaria		X	
Jon Switalski	4	Χ	
Susan L. Doherty	5	Χ	
Joan Flynn	6	Χ	
Sue Rocca	7	Χ	
David J. Flynn	8	Χ	
Robert Mijac	9	Χ	
Philis DeSaele	10	Χ	
Ed Szczepanski	11		Χ
Peter J. Lund	12	X	
Don Brown	13	Χ	
Brian Brdak	14	X	
Keith Rengert	15	X	
Carey Torrice	16	Χ	
Ed Bruley	17	X	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18	X	
Paul Gieleghem	19	X	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	Χ	
Leonard Haggerty	21		X
Elizabeth Slinde	22	X	
William A. Crouchman	23		Χ
Sarah Roberts	24	Χ	
Kathy Vosburg	25	Χ	
Leon Drolet	26	X	

AGENDA

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Torrice, supported by Commissioner Gieleghem, to adopt the agenda. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None

PURPOSE OF MEETING

TO DISCUSS THE TIMING AND EVENTS SURROUNDING THE DISCOVERY OF POTENTIAL HEALTH CARE FRAUD, AND TO DISCUSS THE FAILURE OF BOARD LEADERSHIP, MANAGEMENT AND COUNSEL TO APPROPRIATELY AND TIMELY

INFORM ALL COMMISSIONERS SO THEY HAVE SUFFICIENT INFORMATION TO PARTICIPATE INTELLIGENTLY IN DECISIONS COMING BEFORE THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS.

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Doherty, supported by Commissioner Bruley, to go into executive session to discuss pending litigation and employment matters.

THE MOTION FAILED.

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Gieleghem, supported by Commissioner DiMaria to go into executive session to discuss, with employees, timing and events surrounding the discovery of potential health care fraud regarding the confidential memorandum.

A roll call vote was taken with a 2/3 vote needed:

Voting Yes were Brdak, Bruley, Camphous-Peterson, DeSaele, DiMaria, Doherty, Duzyj, D. Flynn, Gieleghem, Mijac, Roberts, Rocca, Tocco, Torrice. There were 14 "Yes" votes.

Voting No were Drolet, J. Flynn, Lund, Rengert, Sauger, Slinde, Switalski, Vosburg There were 8 "No" votes.

THE MOTION FAILED.

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner DiMaria, supported by Commissioner Bruley to send written notice of a Loudermill Hearing to discuss the timing and events surrounding the discovery of potential health care fraud, and to discuss the failure of board leadership, management and counsel to appropriately and timely inform all commissioners so they have sufficient information to participate intelligently in decisions coming before the board of commissioners for Monday, October 22nd @ 10 a.m. to the following individuals: Diegel, Brumbaugh, Anderson, Herppich, Fouty.

A roll call vote was taken:

Voting Yes were Brdak, Bruley, Camphous-Peterson, DiMaria, Doherty, Duzyj, D. Flynn, Gieleghem, Mijac, Roberts, Rocca, Switalski, Tocco, Torrice. There were 14 "Yes" votes.

Voting No were DeSaele, Drolet, Lund, Rengert, Sauger, Slinde, Vosburg. There were 7 "No" votes.

THE MOTION PASSED.

NEW BUSINESS

Commissioner Lund informed the board that Maureen Hensen turned down the Human Resources Director position.

MOTION TO SUSPEND THE RULES

A motion was made by Commissioner Bruley, supported by Commissioner Tocco to suspend the rules. **THE MOTION TO SUSPEND THE RULES CARRIED**.

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Bruley and supported by Commissioner DiMaria to have a working group composed of Chair Crouchman, Commissioner Lund and Commissioner Tocco negotiate with candidate for Human Resources Director, Maureen Hansen, regarding salary and to try to reach a settlement for her to accept the job.

THE MOTION CARRIED.

MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS – SPECIAL FULL BOARD MEETING October 15, 2007

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None

ROLL CALL

			NOT
NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1	X	
Marvin Sauger	2	X	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	X	
Jon Switalski	4	X	
Susan L. Doherty	5	X	
Joan Flynn	6		X
Sue Rocca	7	X	
David J. Flynn	8	X	
Robert Mijac	9	X	
Philis DeSaele	10	X	
Ed Szczepanski	11		X
Peter J. Lund	12	Χ	
Don Brown	13		X
Brian Brdak	14	X	
Keith Rengert	15	X	
Carey Torrice	16		X
Ed Bruley	17	Χ	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18	X	
Paul Gieleghem	19	Χ	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	Χ	
Leonard Haggerty	21		X
Elizabeth Slinde	22	Χ	
William A. Crouchman	23		X
Sarah Roberts	24	X	
Kathy Vosburg	25	X	
Leon Drolet	26		X

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Duzyj, supported by Commissioner DeSaele, to adjourn. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**

Vice-Chair Camphous-Peterson adjourned the meeting at 2:01 p.m., until the call of the Chair.

Dana Camphous-Peterson, Vice-Chair	Todd Schmitz, Deputy Clerk