# MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING FEBRUARY 5, 2008

The Macomb County Board of Commissioners met at 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday, February 5, 2008 on the 9<sup>th</sup> Floor of the County Administration Building, in the Commissioners' Board Room, Mount Clemens. Chair Crouchman called the meeting to order. A roll call was taken for attendance as follows:

			NOT
NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1	X	
Marvin Sauger	2	X	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Χ	
Jon Switalski	4	Χ	
Susan L. Doherty	5	Χ	
Joan Flynn	6	Χ	
Sue Rocca	7	Χ	
David J. Flynn	8	Χ	
Robert Mijac	9	Χ	
Philis DeSaele	10	Χ	
Ed Szczepanski	11	Χ	
Peter J. Lund	12	Χ	
Don Brown	13	Χ	
Brian Brdak	14	Χ	
Keith Rengert	15	Χ	
Carey Torrice	16	Χ	
Ed Bruley	17	Χ	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18	Χ	
Paul Gieleghem	19	Χ	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	Χ	
Leonard Haggerty	21	Χ	
Elizabeth Slinde	22	Χ	
William A. Crouchman	23	Χ	
Sarah Roberts	24	Χ	
Kathy Vosburg	25	Χ	
Leon Drolet	26	Χ	

# <u>AGENDA</u>

# **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Rengert, supported by Commissioner Torrice, to adopt the agenda.

THE MOTION CARRIED. (Record Bruley No vote)

# **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

Pastor D.L. Bradley, 22645 Quinn Road, Clinton Township Ronald Robinson, 39801 Moravian Drive, Clinton Township Grace Shore, Macomb County Chamber of Commerce John Begin, 16184 Forest Way, Macomb Township

# **PURPOSE OF MEETING**

TO DISCUSS AND VOTE ON THE ATTACHED RESOLUTION AND RELATED MATTERS REGARDING ADOPTING AN OPTIONAL UNIFIED FORM OF COUNTY GOVERNMENT PURSUANT TO ACT 139 OF PUBLIC ACT 1973, AS AMENDED AND SUBMITTING THE ADOPTION OF SAME AND THE SELECTION OF EITHER AN APPOINTED COUNTY MANAGER UNDER ALTERNATE A OR AN ELECTED COUNTY EXECUTIVE UNDER ALTERNATE B TO THE QUALIFIED ELECTORATE ON TUESDAY, MAY 6, 2008, IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE "CONSOLIDATED ELECTIONS" STATUTE.

### **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Haggerty, supported by Commissioner Rengert, to adopt resolution as presented.

A roll call vote was taken:

Voting Yes were: Brown, Camphous-Peterson, Drolet, Haggerty, Rengert, Slinde, Szczepanski, Vosburg and Crouchman. There were 9 "Yes" votes.

Voting No were: Brdak, Bruley, DeSaele, DiMaria, Doherty, Duzyj, D. Flynn, J. Flynn, Gieleghem, Lund, Mijac, Roberts, Rocca, Sauger, Switalski, Tocco and Torrice. There were 17 "No" votes.

# **THE MOTION FAILED.**

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Commissioner Mijac mentioned former Commissioner John Hertel's presentation at the Planning & Economic Development Committee meeting in the morning.

Commissioner Lund advised that the Ad Hoc Committee on hiring an HR Director had recommended someone to be hired and the matter will go to Full Board.

# **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

None

# **ROLL CALL**

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	<b>NOT PRESENT</b>
Andrey Duzyj	1	Χ	
Marvin Sauger	2	Χ	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Χ	
Jon Switalski	4	Χ	
Susan L. Doherty	5	Χ	
Joan Flynn	6	Χ	
Sue Rocca	7	Χ	
David J. Flynn	8	Χ	
Robert Mijac	9	Χ	
Philis DeSaele	10	Χ	
Ed Szczepanski	11	Χ	
Peter J. Lund	12	Χ	
Don Brown	13	Χ	
Brian Brdak	14	Χ	
Keith Rengert	15	Χ	
Carey Torrice	16	Χ	
Ed Bruley	17	Χ	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18	Χ	
Paul Gieleghem	19	Χ	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	Χ	
Leonard Haggerty	21	Χ	
Elizabeth Slinde	22	Χ	
William A. Crouchman	23	Χ	
Sarah Roberts	24	Χ	
Kathy Vosburg	25	Χ	
Leon Drolet	26	Χ	

# **ADJOURNMENT**

# **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Duzyj, supported by Commissioner Roberts , to adjourn the meeting.

# **THE MOTION CARRIED.**

Chair Crouchman adjourned the meeting at1:45 p.m., until the call of the Chair.

MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS February 5, 2008	S – SPECIAL FULL BOARD MEETING
William Crouchman, Chair	Carmella Sabaugh, Clerk