# OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA DECEMBER 23, 2008

The Macomb County Board of Commissioners met at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, December 23, 2008 on the 9<sup>th</sup> Floor of the County Administration Building, in the Commissioners' Board Room, Mount Clemens. Chairman Crouchman called the meeting to order. A roll call was taken for attendance as follows:

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1	X	_
Marvin Sauger	2	Х	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Х	
Jon Switalski	4	Х	
Susan L. Doherty	5	Х	
Joan Flynn	6		X
Sue Rocca	7	Х	
David J. Flynn	8		X
Robert Mijac	9	Х	
Philis DeSaele	10	Х	
Ed Szczepanski	11	X	
Peter J. Lund	12	Х	
Don Brown	13	X	
Brian Brdak	14	Х	
Keith Rengert	15	Χ	
Carey Torrice	16	Х	
Ed Bruley	17	Х	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18		X
Paul Gieleghem	19	X	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	Χ	
Leonard Haggerty	21		X
Elizabeth Slinde	22		X
William A. Crouchman	23	X	
Sarah Roberts	24	X	
Kathy Vosburg	25	Χ	
Leon Drolet	26	X	

Commissioners J. Flynn, D. Flynn, Slinde, Camphous-Peterson and Haggerty were absent and excused.

# <u>AGENDA</u>

# **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Duzyj, supported by Commissioner DeSaele, to adopt the agenda, AS AMENDED, TO INCLUDE #8 AND #9. THE MOTION CARRIED.

#### **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

Bill Luft; 35548 Weideman, Clinton Township

#### MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS - FULL BOARD MEETING OFFICIAL MINUTES - December 23, 2008

Mickey McGee: 153 S. Highland, Mount Clemens Lori Kitchen; 36460 Union Lake Road; Harrison Twp. Chuck Barone; 14255 Towering Oaks Drive; Shelby Twp.

Randy Whitmeyer; Regional Manager for Mortgage Company; Co-host "Senior Moments" TV

Bill Meldrum: 52122 Westgrove West Ct: Macomb Twp.

Julie Champion; 190 Beuland; Mount Clemens Dr. Kari Hortos; 1000 Harrington Blvd; Mt. Clemens

Dana Schafer: 47540 Forton: Chesterfield Morgan French: 110 Grand: Mount Clemens

Susan Kutchey; 17110 – 26 Mile Road; Macomb Township Connie Wallace: 7845 Beach Drive: St. Clair County

Kenneth DeCock; 80575 Holmes Road; Armada

Lindsay Nippenburg; South Lake High School teacher; St. Clair Shores

Mike Schichtel; 875 N. Esplanade; Mount Clemens Sarah Watson; 35148 Weideman, Clinton Township Michael Defour; 5120 Sarah; Shelby Township

Clemmie: Macomb County Council on Aging (Park Place towers)

Patrick Simasko; 319 N. Gratiot; Mount Clemens Dana Lazechko; 35861 Harvard Road; New Baltimore

Nick Ciaramitaro; 19473 Candlelight; Roseville

Emily Diaz-Torres; President of Hispanic Coalition of Macomb County

Dick: 43267 Eckert:

Pat Wilcox; 34 Park Street; Mount Clemens Dave Walinski; 47444 Forton; Chesterfield

Tom Kuhn; 2422 White Pine; Resident of Ingham County

Justina Dixon: 4791 Liberty: Sterling Heights

# **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Lund, supported by Commissioner Brown, to go into executive session to discuss labor negotiations. THE MOTION CARRIED.

In accordance with the motion, the board entered executive session at 10:48 a.m., with it concluding at 12:01 p.m.

#### **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Szczepanski, supported by Commissioner Doherty, to postpone referral from 12-10-08 budget committee meeting report on 2009 budget reduction mandate until the December 30<sup>th</sup> meeting. **THE MOTION CARRIED.** 

#### **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Rengert, supported by Commissioner Tocco, to approve waiver of time off requirements for December 19, 2008 Snow Day. THE MOTION CARRIED. (Record NO votes for Bruley and Roberts)

#### RESOLUTIONS/TRIBUTES

#### **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Vosburg, supported by Commissioner Mijac, to adopt the following Resolution:

Res. No. 08-93 Commending Harold Haugh on his Retirement as Mayor of Roseville

# MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS - FULL BOARD MEETING OFFICIAL MINUTES - December 23, 2008

(offered by Slinde)

# **THE MOTION CARRIED**

# **NEW BUSINESS**

None

# **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

None

# **ROLL CALL**

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1		X
Marvin Sauger	2	X	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Х	
Jon Świtalski	4	Х	
Susan L. Doherty	5 6	Х	
Joan Flynn	6		X
Sue Rocca	7	Х	
David J. Flynn	8		X
Robert Mijac	9	Х	
Philis DeSaele	10	Х	
Ed Szczepanski	11	Χ	
Peter J. Lund	12	Х	
Don Brown	13	Χ	
Brian Brdak	14	Χ	
Keith Rengert	15	Х	
Carey Torrice	16	Χ	
Ed Bruley	17	Χ	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18		X
Paul Gieleghem	19	Χ	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	Χ	
Leonard Haggerty	21		X
Elizabeth Slinde	22		X
William A. Crouchman	23	Χ	
Sarah Roberts	24	Χ	
Kathy Vosburg	25	Χ	
Leon Drolet	26	Х	

# **RECESS**

#### **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Bruley, supported by Commissioner Brdak, to recess the meeting to Tuesday morning, December 30, 2008 at 9:00 a.m. THE MOTION CARRIED (Record NO votes for Doherty and Rocca)

Chair Crouchman recessed the meeting at 12:24 p.m.

# **DECEMBER 30, 2008**

The Macomb County Board of Commissioners met at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, December 30, 2008 on the 9<sup>th</sup> Floor of the County Administration Building, in the Commissioners' Board Room, Mount Clemens. Chairman Crouchman called the meeting to order.

# MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Brdak, supported by Commissioner Duzyj, to go into executive session to discuss labor negotiations. THE MOTION CARRIED.

In accordance with the motion, the board entered executive session at 9:08 a.m., with it concluding at 10:44 a.m.

#### MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Szczepanski, supported by Commissioner DeSaele, to refer the Report on the 2009 Budge Reduction Mandate to the January 8, 2009 meeting. THE MOTION CARRIED.

## MOTION TO SET ASIDE THE RULES

A motion was made by Commissioner Duzyj, supported by Commissioner Sauger, to set aside the rules. THE MOTION TO SET ASIDE THE RULES CARRIED.

## **RESOLUTIONS/TRIBUTES**

## **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Slinde, supported by Commissioner J. Flynn, to adopt the following resolutions:

Commending Chief Richard Heinz on his retirement from the City of Roseville Res. No. 08-94

Police Department (offered by Slinde)

Commending Rev. Oswald Mascarenhas of Holy Innocents – St. Barnabas Parish Res. No. 08-95

(offered by Slinde)

#### **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

None

### **ROLL CALL**

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
	DIGTRICT		TIVEOLITI
Andrey Duzyj	1	X	
Marvin Sauger	2	Χ	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Χ	
Jon Switalski	4		X
Susan L. Doherty	5	Χ	
Joan Flynn	6	Χ	
Sue Rocca	7	Χ	
David J. Flynn	8	Χ	
Robert Mijac	9	Χ	

# MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS - FULL BOARD MEETING OFFICIAL MINUTES - December 23, 2008

Philis DeSaele	10	Х	
Ed Szczepanski	11	X	
Peter J. Lund	12	X	
Don Brown	13	X	
Brian Brdak	14	X	
Keith Rengert	15	X	
Carey Torrice	16		X
Ed Bruley	17	X	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18		X
Paul Gieleghem	19	X	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	X	
Leonard Haggerty	21		X
Elizabeth Slinde	22	X	
William A. Crouchman	23	X	
Sarah Roberts	24	X	
Kathy Vosburg	25	Χ	
Leon Drolet	26	X	

# **ADJOURNMENT**

MOTION A motion was made by Commissioner Duzyj, supp meeting. THE MOTION CARRIED.	orted by Commissioner DiMaria, to adjourn the
Chair Crouchman adjourned the meeting at 10:49	a.m., until the call of the Chair.
William Crouchman, Chairman	Todd Schmitz, Deputy Clerk