OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA MARCH 24, 2009

The Macomb County Board of Commissioners met at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, March 24, 2009 on the 9th Floor of the County Administration Building, in the Commissioners' Board Room, Mount Clemens. Vice-Chair Tocco called the meeting to order. A roll call was taken for attendance as follows:

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1	FRESENT	X
Marvin Sauger	2		X
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Х	
Toni Moceri	4	X X	
Susan L. Doherty	5		Х
Joan Flynn	6	Х	
Sue Rocca	7	X	
David J. Flynn	8	Х	
Robert Mijac	9	Х	
Ken Lampar	10	Х	
Ed Szczepanski	11	Х	
James L. Carabelli	12		Х
Don Brown	13		Х
Brian Brdak	14	Х	
Keith Rengert	15	Х	
Carey Torrice	16	Х	
Ed Bruley	17	Х	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18	Х	
Paul Gieleghem	19		Х
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	Х	
Irene M. Kepler	21	Х	
Frank Accavitti, Jr.	22		Х
William A. Crouchman	23	Х	
Michael A. Boyle	24	Х	
Kathy D. Vosburg	25	Х	
Jeffery S. Sprys	26	Х	

Commissioners' Doherty, Gieleghem and Accavitti arrived at 5:05 pm.

Commissioner Brown arrived at 5:12 pm.

Commissioner Carabelli arrived at 5:51 pm.

Commissioner Duzyj arrived at 6:17 pm.

<u>AGENDA</u>

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Camphous-Peterson, to adopt the agenda, supported by Commissioner Rocca. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None

INTERVIEWS OF CANDIDATES FOR BOARDS & COMMISSIONS APPOINTMENTS

Vote of the Board Appointments:

- a) Friend of the Court Advisory Committee: 1 vacancy (Term: upon appointment to indefinite) Appt: Dolora Paull (not present)
- b) Civil Service Commission: 1 vacancy (Term: Republican, 6 yr term; upon appt to 12/31/14) Reappointment: William Froberg Appt: Frederick Blonde Appt: Susan Barr (not present)

c) Community Corrections Advisory Committee:

4 vacancies (Term: unexpired term to 3/31/11)
Appt: Phillip DiMaria (County Commissioner)
Appt: Charles Burnett (Police Chief) (not present) 3 yr term: 4/1/09 to 3/31/12
Appt: Randy O'Brien (Substance Abuse) 3 yr term: 4/1/09 to 3/31/12
Appt: Erin C. Smith (Probation Dept. Rep) (not present) 3 yr term: 4/1/09 to 3/31/12

d) **Community Mental Health Services Board**:

4 vacancies (3 year terms- 4/1/09 to 3/31/12) Reappointment: Del Becker Appt: Marilyn Brown Reappointment: Commissioner Joan Flynn Reappointment: Brian Negovan Reappointment: Betty Slinde

e) Health Department Hearing Board:

4 vacancies (2 year terms: upon appointment to 12/31/10) Reappointment: Dr. Donald J. Amboyer Reappointment: George Penna Reappointment: Commissioner Dana Camphous-Peterson

f) Juvenile Justice Advisory Board:

1 vacancy for parent representative (Term is upon appointment to indefinite) No applications received

g) **Parks and Recreation Commission:**

4 vacancies SEMCOG representative (must be elected by 2/3 vote) Reappointment: Commissioner Phillip DiMaria Reappointment: Tim Malone (Homeowner's Association Officer) Appt: Commissioner Jeffery Sprys (individual) MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA - OFFICIAL MINUTES March 24, 2009

h) Road Commission:

2 vacancies; <u>1 unexpired term-upon appointment to 12/31/12:</u> Appt: Timothy Kniga Appt: Michael R. Landsiedel Appt: Onorio Moscone Appt: Donald N. Ritzenhein

<u>1 – 6 year term-upon appointment to 12/31/14:</u> Appt: Dan G. Dirks Appt: Kenneth J. McCarthy Reappointment: Robert M. Sawicki

Commissioner Brown asked for clarification regarding whether the applicants applied for a specific road commission term or not. Vice-Chair Tocco spoke with Board staff and stated that if the portion of the application was not completed showing the term dates, the applicants were contacted and the applications were put in the requested vacancy slot.

Corporation Counsel George Brumbaugh responded to a question stating Commissioners could appoint any Road Commission applicant to any Road Commission vacancy.

i) Substance Abuse Advisory Council:

4 vacancies (3 year terms-upon appointment to 8/31/11) Appt: Joelene Beckett Appt: Jeffrey Oldham Appt: Elizabeth Risher Appt: James E. Skelton

Appointment by Chairman with Concurrence of Board:

- j) AAA-1B: 2 vacancies; 1 county commissioner delegate; 1 county commissioner alternate; 2 year terms-upon appointment to 12/31/10
 Appt: Toni Moceri (Delegate)
 Appt: Joan Flynn (Alternate)
- k) Commission on Women: 2 vacancies: 1 democrat commissioner liaison; 1 republican county commissioner liaison; (2 year terms; upon appt to 12/31/10) Democrat: application withdrawn; vacancy remains Republican: vacancy remains
- Historical Commission: 2 vacancies: 1 democrat county commissioner for unexpired term ending 10/31/10; 1 interested person for unexpired term ending 10/31/11)
 Appt: Commissioner Michael Boyle
 Appt: John M. Emerson (interested person)
- m) Hospital Finance Authority: 1 vacancy (5 year term-upon appointment to 12/31/13)
 Appt: Commissioner David Flynn

- N Water Quality Board: 5 vacancies: 1 republican county commissioner; 1 democrat county commissioner; 1 environmental advocate; 1 business community rep; 1 agricultural community rep.
 Appt: Steve Remias (Business Comm. Rep) not present
 Appt: Rep. Sarah Roberts (Environmental Advocacy Rep) not present
 Appt: Commissioner Kathy Vosburg (Republican county commissioner) not present
 Appt: Commissioner Brian Brdak (Democrat county commissioner)
 NOTE: Agricultural community rep appt will be made at later date
- Partnership of Sustainability: 2 vacancies: 1 republican county commissioner; 1 democrat county commissioner; 3 year terms-upon appointment to 12/31/11 Appt: Commissioner Toni Moceri One vacancy remains
- p) SEMCOG: 4 county commissioners; 4 alternates; 2 year terms-upon appointment to 12/31/10 Appt: Commissioner Ed Bruley (Delegate)
 Appt: Commissioner David Elvon (Delegate)

Appt: Commissioner David Flynn (Delegate) Reappointment: Commissioner Joan Flynn (Delegate) Appt: Commissioner Jim Carabelli (Delegate)

Appt: Commissioner Toni Moceri (Alternate) Reappointment: Commissioner Kathy Vosburg (Alternate) 2 alternate vacancies remain

Appointment by Commissioner with Concurrence of Board:

 q) Commission on Women: 6 vacancies in Districts 1, 12, 13, 16, 17 and 26 District 12: Commissioner Carabelli – Terri Kowal (not present) District 17: Commissioner Bruley – Sandra L. Hughes-Leonard District 26: Commissioner Sprys – Shelley Galasso Bonanno (not present) No other appointees identified; 3 vacancies remain

ROLL CALL

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1	Х	
Marvin Sauger	2		Х
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Х	
Toni Moceri	4	Х	
Susan L. Doherty	5	Х	
Joan Flynn	6	Х	
Sue Rocca	7	Х	
David J. Flynn	8	Х	
Robert Mijac	9	Х	
Ken Lampar	10	Х	
Ed Szczepanski	11		Х

MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA - OFFICIAL MINUTES March 24, 2009

12		Х
13		Х
14		Х
15	Х	
16	Х	
17	Х	
18	Х	
19		Х
20	Х	
21	Х	
22	Х	
23	Х	
24	Х	
25		Х
26	Х	
	13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25	13 14 15 X 16 X 17 X 18 X 19 20 21 X 22 X 23 X 24 X 25 25

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner J. Flynn, to adjourn, supported by Commissioner Duzyj. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**

Vice-Chair Tocco adjourned the meeting at 8:08 p.m., until the call of the Chair.

Kathy Tocco, Vice-Chair

Todd Schmitz, Deputy Clerk