OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA MARCH 24, 2010

The Macomb County Board of Commissioners met at 8:30 a.m. on Wednesday, March 24, 2010 on the 9th Floor of the County Administration Building, in the Commissioners' Board Room, Mount Clemens. Chairman Gieleghem called the meeting to order. A roll call was taken for attendance as follows:

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1	X	
Marvin Sauger	2	Х	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3 4	Х	
Toni Moceri			X
Susan L. Doherty	5	X	
Joan Flynn	6	X	
Sue Rocca	7	X	
David J. Flynn	8		X
Robert Mijac	9	X	
Ken Lampar	10	X	
Ed Szczepanski	11		X
James L. Carabelli	12	Х	
Don Brown	13		X
Brian Brdak	14	X	
Keith Rengert	15	X	
Carey Torrice	16	X	
Ed Bruley	17	X	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18	X	
Paul Gieleghem	19	X	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	X	
Irene M. Kepler	21	X	
Frank Accavitti, Jr.	22	Х	
William A. Crouchman	23	Х	
Michael A. Boyle	24	X	
Kathy D. Vosburg	25	Х	
Jeffery S. Sprys	26	X	

Commissioners Moceri, Brown and David Flynn arrived after roll call.

AGENDA

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Tocco, to adopt the agenda, supported by Commissioner Mijac. **THE MOTION CARRIED.** (Record NO vote Duzyj)

MACOMB COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA OFFICIAL MINUTES – March 24, 2010

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Harry Awdey, 74035 Tietz, Armada Dave Willis, 8155 Virginia Park, Center Line Marty Prehn, 24701 Cubberness, St. Clair Shores

PREPARATION OF CHARTER AMENDMENT REGARDING CREATION OF TERM LIMITS FOR COUNTY EXECUTIVE AND COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FOR PLACEMENT ON AUGUST 3, 2010 BALLOT

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Tocco, to direct Corporation Counsel to prepare and present to this Board, by the next meeting of the Full Board (April 29, 2010), the appropriate language for a ballot proposal to amend the Charter to include 8 year term limits for the Executive and 12 year term limits for the County Commissioners; this amendment would be placed on the November ballot, supported by Commissioner Bruley.

MOTION TO CALL THE QUESTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Crouchman to call the question, supported by Commissioner Sauger. **THE MOTION FAILED BY LACK OF 2/3.**

MOTION TO AMEND

A motion to amend was made by Commissioner Accavitti to amend the motion to read: to direct Corporation County to prepare and present to the Board of Commissioners no later than the meeting of the Full Board on April 29, 2010, a Charter Amendment that would exclude the County Commissioners, the County Executive and appointees of the County Executive from participation in the County's Defined Benefits Plan, which was created pursuant to MCL 46.12(a). The proposed amendment would be submitted to the electors at the next general election, supported by Commissioner Carabelli.

Commissioner Doherty questioned whether the motion is germane.

Chair Gieleghem ruled the motion germane.

Commissioner Doherty challenged the chair to his ruling.

Commissioner Carabelli withdrew his support on the motion to amend.

THE MOTION TO AMEND FAILED BY LACK OF SUPPORT.

A roll call vote was taken on the original motion:

Voting Yes were: Accavitti, Brdak, Bruley, Carabelli, D. Flynn, Mijac, Moceri, Sprys, Tocco and Gieleghem. There were 10 Yes votes.

Voting No was: Boyle, Brown, Camphous-Peterson, Crouchman, DiMaria, Doherty, Duzyj, J. Flynn, Kepler, Lampar, Rengert, Rocca, Sauger, Torrice and Vosburg. There were 15 No votes.

THE MOTION FAILED.

NEW BUSINESS

Commissioner Kepler indicated the Finance Committee meeting would start in 10 minutes.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None

ROLL CALL

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Andrey Duzyj	1	X	FRESENT
Marvin Sauger	2	X	
Phillip A. DiMaria		X	
Toni Moceri	3 4	X	
Susan L. Doherty	5	X	
Joan Flynn	6	X	
Sue Rocca	7	X	
David J. Flynn	8	X	
	9	X	
Robert Mijac	10	X	
Ken Lampar	11	^	X
Ed Szczepanski James L. Carabelli	12	V	^
Don Brown	13	X	
	13		
Brian Brdak		X	
Keith Rengert	15	X	
Carey Torrice	16	X	
Ed Bruley	17	X	
Dana Camphous-Peterson	18	X	
Paul Gieleghem	19	X	
Kathleen E. Tocco	20	X	
Irene M. Kepler	21	X	
Frank Accavitti, Jr.	22	X	
William A. Crouchman	23	Χ	
Michael A. Boyle	24	Χ	
Kathy D. Vosburg	25	X	
Jeffery S. Sprys	26	X	

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Duzyj, to adjourn, supported by Commissioner Torrice. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**

,	,	
Paul Gieleghem, Chairman	Carmella Saba	augh, County Clerk

Chair Gieleghem adjourned the meeting at 9:55 a.m., until the call of the Chair.