OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE MACOMB COUNTY COMMISSION FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA April 20, 2012

The Macomb County Commission met at 9:05 a.m. on Friday, April 20, 2012 on the 9th Floor of the County Administration Building, in the Commissioners' Board Room, Mount Clemens. Chair Vosburg called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Toni Moceri	1		X
Marvin Sauger	2	Χ	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Χ	
David J. Flynn	4	Χ	
Ray Gralewski	5	Χ	
James L. Carabelli	6	X	
Don Brown	7	X	
Kathy D. Vosburg	8	X	
Fred Miller	9	X	
Roland Fraschetti	10	Х	
Kathleen E. Tocco	11		X
Bob Smith	12	Х	
Joe Sabatini	13	Х	

Commissioners Moceri and Tocco arrived after roll call.

<u>AGENDA</u>

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner DiMaria, to approve the agenda, supported by Commissioner Carabelli. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None

REVIEW APPLICATIONS / INTERVIEW APPLICANTS AND SELECT ADVISORY COMPENSATION COMMITTEE MEMBERS

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Miller to review the applicants for minimum qualifications and ask questions then assign each application a number and select the five member board by lottery. **THE MOTION FAILED FOR LACK OF SUPPORT.**

The applicants were asked the same four questions:

- 1. What do you know about the pay of the Sheriff, Prosecutor, Clerk, Treasurer and Public Works Commissioner?
- 2. How did you become aware of the opportunity to apply for a position on this committee?
- 3. Have you ever been responsible for setting wages? If so, in what setting? What was the process you used to determine pay?
- 4. What criteria should be considered when determining compensation?

The following applicants appeared:

- 1. Paul Boone
- 2. Donald Gillespie
- 3. Simon Haddad
- 4. Eugene Hom
- 5. Phil Hunsberger
- 6. Jacob Femminineo, Jr.
- 7. Jared Maynard
- 8. Mary Rastigue
- 9. Karl Rutledge
- 10. Steve Stephens
- 11. James Tignanelli
- 12. David Alan Wilemski
- Linda Wilemski
- 14. Thomas Zager

Commissioner Flynn requested a five minute recess. Chair Vosburg indicated there would be a recess.

Commissioner Smith indicated that applicant Grace Shore had a prior commitment that prevented her from attending the meeting.

Commissioner Miller thanked the applicants and indicated he felt the best way to choose the appointments would be through a lottery.

The board took a five-minute recess at 9:50 a.m. with it ending at 9:55 a.m.

A roll call vote was taken for the appointments. Appointments must have a majority vote.

MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner DiMaria, to appoint the applicants that received the highest number of votes in the second round of voting, supported by Commissioner Sauger.

A roll call vote was taken:

Voting Yes were: DiMaria, Flynn, Gralewski, Miller, Sauger, Smith & Tocco. There were 7 Yes votes. Voting No were: Brown, Carabelli, Fraschetti, Moceri, Sabatini & Vosburg. There were 6 No votes.

THE MOTION CARRIED.

Appointed to the committee were:

- 1. James Tignanelli
- 2. Grace Shore
- 3. Paul Boone
- 4. Jacob Femminineo, Jr.
- 5. Mary Rastigue

NEW BUSINESS

Commissioner Carabelli reminded everyone of the Economic Development Committee meeting at 1 p.m. today.

Commissioner Miller asked Corporation Counsel their position about the compensation advisory committee and requested a legal memo for the record with the information.

Commissioner Flynn asked Corporation Counsel about adoption of the creation of the advisory committee and asked the Chair about the process.

Commissioner Carabelli mentioned that he will be out of the country for the May 14th at 9 a.m. meeting for the final recommendation from the advisory committee and wanted to put on the record that he does not feel that any elected official should receive a raise.

Commissioner Flynn asked Corporation Counsel if the salaries would go into effect immediately at the May 14th meeting and requested the response be put into a legal memo.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None

ROLL CALL

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Toni Moceri	1	X	
Marvin Sauger	2	Х	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Х	
David J. Flynn	4	Х	
Ray Gralewski	5	X	
James L. Carabelli	6	X	
Don Brown	7	Х	
Kathy D. Vosburg	8	Х	
Fred Miller	9	Х	
Roland Fraschetti	10	Х	
Kathleen E. Tocco	11		Х
Bob Smith	12	Х	
Joe Sabatini	13	Х	

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Vosburg adjourned the meeting at 10:19 a.m., until the call of the Chair.

athy Vesburg, Chair / Todd Schmitz, Chief Deputy Clerk