# OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE MACOMB COUNTY COMMISSION FULL BOARD MEETING WITH SPECIAL AGENDA April 24, 2012

The Macomb County Commission met at 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 24, 2012 on the 9<sup>th</sup> Floor of the County Administration Building in the Commissioners' Board Room, Mount Clemens. Chair Vosburg called the meeting to order.

# ROLL CALL

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Toni Moceri	1	Х	
Marvin Sauger	2	Х	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Х	
David J. Flynn	4	Х	
Ray Gralewski	5	Х	
James L. Carabelli	6	Х	
Don Brown	7	Х	
Kathy D. Vosburg	8	Х	
Fred Miller	9	Х	
Roland Fraschetti	10	Х	
Kathleen E. Tocco	11		Х
Bob Smith	12	Х	
Joe Sabatini	13		Х

Commissioners Tocco and Sabatini arrived after roll call.

# <u>AGENDA</u>

## MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner DiMaria, to approve the agenda, supported by Commissioner Sauger. **THE MOTION CARRIED.** 

## PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Leo Garry, 45815 Grant Court, Macomb Township Eugene A. Gargaro, Jr., DIA Board of Directors Kermit Harris, Director of Veteran Services Penny Pesta, 50400 Sass, Chesterfield Kevin Grand, 22079 Oakwood, Eastpointe Matthew Dreger, President - Board of Trustees for Anton Art Center, Mt. Clemens Kathryn Grenda, 45546 Limerick, Macomb Township Karen Kolpak, 17305 Penrod, Clinton Township Seok Chung, 6916 Shorebrook Drive, Shelby Township James Boglev, 28109 Hughes, St. Clair Shores Diane Pellerin, 13807 Silent Woods, Shelby Township

Adopted by the Board on May 17, 2012

David Maguera, 20820 Nucci Drive, Clinton Township Pat Woodstock, 41686 Windmill Street, Harrison Township Greg Jacob, 43421 Garfield Rd, Clinton Township, Henry Ford Hospital Manager Guy Harvey, 22345 Elmwood, Eastpointe Christine Guarino. Director of Community Affairs @ MCC Virginia Rec, 32060 Mark Adam Lane, Warren Nancy Thomas, 20130 Shoals Ct., Clinton Township Colleen Bauman, 79655 Main Street, Memphis, Bonnie Hayter, 14899 - 28 Mile Road, Washington Nick Rowley, 16519 Glenpointe Drive, Clinton Township Michael Sproul, 21710 Alexander, St. Clair Shores Grace Shore, 17305 Haverhill, Macomb Township Ron Chriss, 56479 Dickens Drive, Shelby Township Fred Warner, 39657 Ormsby, Clinton Township David Galli, 28169 Sutherland, Warren Philis DeSaele, Sterling Heights Chris Utykanski, 13642 Whispering Lane, Sterling Heights Mike Marrone, 8433 Hickory, Sterling Heights Nanette Danner, 48744 Presidential Drive, Macomb Township Irene Marek, 42445 Lynda, Clinton Township Bruce Patterson, 307 Country Club Drive, St. Clair Shores Juanita Parker, 16442 Clarkson, Fraser Stan Simek, 21728 Francis, St. Clair Shores

# SPECIAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MEETING - April 20, 2012

The clerk read the recommendation from the Special Economic Development Committee and a motion was made by Co-Chairs Carabelli & Flynn, to adopt the committee recommendation:

**R12-028** Authorize the publication of the proposed Articles of Incorporation of the Macomb County Art Institute Authority, as attached. (Roll call vote from committee: Yes - Flynn, Miller, Moceri, Smith and Tocco; No-Carabelli, Gralewski and Sabatini)

# AMENDMENT

Commissioner Flynn offered an amendment to Article 5, Item #17, Powers and Duties: The Authority will report annually to the Board of Commissioners on the status of the contract between the Authority and the Detroit Institute of Arts, the required audit and any line item expenditures made by the Authority, supported by Commissioner DiMaria.

THE MOTION CARRIED. (Record NO vote for Sabatini)

# FRIENDLY AMENDMENT

Commissioner Smith made a friendly amendment to make a change to Article 3, Item #1, Appointments: Two members shall be appointed by the Commission *"without County Executive confirmation."* The amendment was accepted by the maker and supporter.

A roll call vote was taken on the main motion.

NAME	DISTRICT	YES	NO
Toni Moceri	1	Х	
Marvin Sauger	2	Х	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Х	
David J. Flynn	4	Х	
Ray Gralewski	5		Х
James L. Carabelli	6		Х
Don Brown	7		Х
Kathy D. Vosburg	8	Х	
Fred Miller	9	Х	
Roland Fraschetti	10		Х
Kathleen E. Tocco	11	Х	
Bob Smith	12	Х	
Joe Sabatini	13		Х
TOTALS:		8	5

## THE MOTION CARRIED.

## PROCLAMATIONS

## MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner DiMaria, to adopt the following Proclamation, supported by Commissioner Sauger.

Proc. #12-17 Commending Matthew Sarti for achieving the status of Eagle Scout in the Boy Scouts of America (offered by Vosburg)

#### THE MOTION CARRIED.

#### NEW BUSINESS

Commissioner Brown asked about status of the Advisory Compensation Committee.

## PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Eugene A. Gargaro, Jr., DIA Board of Directors David Maquera, 20820 Nucci Drive, Clinton Township Nick Rowley, 16519 Glenpointe Drive, Clinton Township Juanita Parker, 16442 Clarkson, Fraser Chris Utykanski, 13642 Whispering Lane, Sterling Heights Nanette Danner, 48744 Presidential Drive, Macomb Township **ROLL CALL** 

NAME	DISTRICT	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
Toni Moceri	1	Х	
Marvin Sauger	2	Х	
Phillip A. DiMaria	3	Х	
David J. Flynn	4	Х	
Ray Gralewski	5	Х	
James L. Carabelli	6	Х	
Don Brown	7	Х	
Kathy D. Vosburg	8	Х	
Fred Miller	9	Х	
Roland Fraschetti	10	Х	
Kathleen E. Tocco	11	Х	
Bob Smith	12	Х	
Joe Sabatini	13	Х	

# **ADJOURNMENT**

## MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner DiMaria, to adjourn, supported by Commissioner Sabatini. THE MOTION CARRIED.

Chair Vosburg adjourned the meeting at 8:08 p.m., until the call of the Chair.

 Mathy A. Vosburg
 Latmella Achauge

 Kathy Vosburg, Chair
 Carmella Sabaugh, County Clerk